Monopole and dyon bound states in N = 2 supersymmetric Yang-Mills theories

Thumbnail Image



Journal Title

Journal ISSN

Volume Title

Repository Usage Stats


Citation Stats


We study the existence of monopole bound states saturating the BPS bound in N = 2 supersymmetric Yang-Mills theories. We describe how the existence of such bound states relates to the topology of index bundles over the moduli space of BPS solutions. Using an L2 index theorem, we prove the existence of certain BPS states predicted by Seiberg and Witten based on their study of the vacuum structure of N = 2 Yang-Mills theories. © 1995.






Published Version (Please cite this version)


Publication Info

Sethi, S, M Stern and E Zaslow (1995). Monopole and dyon bound states in N = 2 supersymmetric Yang-Mills theories. Nuclear Physics, Section B, 457(3). pp. 484–510. 10.1016/0550-3213(95)00517-X Retrieved from

This is constructed from limited available data and may be imprecise. To cite this article, please review & use the official citation provided by the journal.



Mark A. Stern

Professor of Mathematics

The focus of Professor Stern's research is the study of analytic problems arising in geometry, topology,  physics, and number theory.

In recent work, Professor Stern has studied analytical, geometric, and topological questions arising from Yang-Mills theory, Hodge theory, and number theory. These have led for example to a study of (i) stability questions arising in Yang Mills theory and harmonic maps, (ii) energy minimizing connections and instantons,  (iii) new bounds for eigenvalues of Laplace Beltrami operators, and (iv) new bounds for betti numbers.

Unless otherwise indicated, scholarly articles published by Duke faculty members are made available here with a CC-BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial) license, as enabled by the Duke Open Access Policy. If you wish to use the materials in ways not already permitted under CC-BY-NC, please consult the copyright owner. Other materials are made available here through the author’s grant of a non-exclusive license to make their work openly accessible.